TPO 12 - It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

There is no doubt that nowadays, having broad knowledge especially in academic area is crucially important. In this regard some people are inclined toward the opinion that having deep knowledge in one area is better than having shallow awareness in various facet whereas others hold exactly the opposite perspective, believing that people who are knowledgeable about different academic subjects have a considerable potential to be prosperous. From my vantage point, it will be extremely beneficial to learn different academic subjects since it will improve student's ability which they will apply in their future job or careers, researches and decisions. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my perspectives for acquiring extensive knowledge.

One of the reasons that immediately comes to mind is that widespread knowledge leads to vast job opportunities since majority of employers ask applicants for variety of skills. For example, economic advisor requires considerable knowledge about people's consumption culture, political parties and statistics. In this case, if an economics students just focus on one subject like statistics, he would not find good career because he is unable to combine aforementioned skills and utilize them at work. On the other hand, if he gains pertinent information in various subject like culture, policy and quantitative statistics, he could get the job position. That means that the more academic subjects you learn, the more job opportunity you find.

Another equally important reason is that extensive knowledge facilitate researches and studies. Relevant statistic in the US reveal that interdisciplinary studies have been expanding and developing, accordingly scholars need enormous information in different aspects. Take marketing researches for instance. For carrying out the research, you should be knowledgeable about marketing as your main subject and other related subjects such as anthropology, psychology, computer science and economics. So if you have the required information, you could conduct the research easily and in the short time but if you just have information about marketing major, you should waste your time on learning mentioned aspects which are time consuming. Thus, broad knowledge helps scholars to do thoroughly their researches and save their precious time.

The last but not least reason is that comprehensive knowledge is integral part of any decision. It means making decision is positively effected by level of our knowledge. Empirical studies show that manager who has diversified resume has experience and knowledge in several aspects, makes his decisions appropriately and accurately. Hence, he is familiar with different aspects and his perspective is wider. For example, chief executer in a company is going to decide about development plan. In this case, she has to factor a lot of subjects in her decision, such as budgeting, financing methods and financial resources. In this regard, if she has not sufficient information about the subjects, she will take the wrong path. Thus, extensive knowledge reduces our decision errors and increases the quality of management.

To wrap it up, I deeply believe that having encyclopedic knowledge of various academic subjects is useful, helpful and practical for individuals. Vast knowledge helps us to find top job positions, carry out extensive research and make correct decisions. Thus by learning different aspects of knowledge, we can make our future life more brilliant and thriving.