TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I, personally, strongly agree that the extended family is becoming uncommon. After the industrial revolution, human beings' lifestyle has changed significantly and altered many aspects of life as well families structures. Moreover, nowadays, people have a different attitude, interests, desires and so forth which diable to have a close tie with their relatives. And the last but not least, a relationship, in general, have declined among folks, so it affects relations in families too.

First, after the so-called industrial revolution, people migrated from rural areas to urban zones. They used to live on by working in fields, and also they were small communities with a limited amount of inhabitant. They faced with abundant difficulties, and they could not conquer hardships unless they supported each other. Thus, we get to the point that how much-extended family was vital for ancient people to survive. But, by migration to cities, people became more independent and they we did not obligate to keep a close relationship with others as well as their family. That is why I think the humans' progress during history has changed the shape of families.

Second of all, today, people have a variety of options to make their future. For example, a group of people may want to be a professional athlete, whereas others are interested in participating in university and get a degree. Besides, we tend to make relationships with people who have the same concerns. Hence, one searches for a person with a specific quality. It is evident that having more in common with a friend gets a higher priority than trying to merely communicate with your relatives, particularly when they do not understand you!

Ultimately, I assume that people appreciate solitude in comparison to the past. For example, I prefer to stay at home and study my favorite books rather than interact with my cousins. It does not mean that I am selfish. However, I realize that many of my friends have the same feeling as mine.

For all the reasons that I have stated, I presume, not only has extended family decayed, but also people even have no desire to start a friendship to one another! our society has been changing rapidly, and people comprehend life differently. Therefore, the old kinds of relationship certainly have no more practical results and should be substituted with new forms.