TPO-14 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Traveling is something that everyone would like to experience from a very young age. We are introduced to other countries first by watching television programs held to inform us of different cultures, languages, food and sights other places have. Some contend that traveling in their own country benefits the people more since they can save a lot of money. However, I completely agree that visiting countries other than your own are extremely interesting. Some travel on business, others to go on holiday. Students also travel to study, to take a post-graduate course at a well-known University. Others travel to educate themselves, to learn more about the country they are visiting, places of interest, like art and history museums, to experience their culture.

To begin with, traveling gives us the opportunity to disconnect from our regular life. You get to forget your problems/issues for a few weeks; it can also help you figure things out that you would not have understood without the distance traveling can give you. We all have crazy schedules, work, and a family to take care of, going away alone or with some friends can give you distance and perhaps even make you realize how important these people are for you. Like the saying says: we never know what we have until we lose it.

Another great benefit is the relaxation you get to do. It’s nice to live life to its fullest and enjoy a stress-free time with yourself. Going on vacation lets us to recharge our “batteries” by disconnecting us from our regular life. When we come back we feel invigorated and we are happy to be back in our day to day routine. It’s a very good stress remover that has a lot more to give than most people are willing to accept.

Secondly,traveling increases our knowledge and widens our perspective. To view new customs, different ways of living is fantastic for the mind. It gives us a new perspective about life and especially our life, it can help us change some of our habits or even create new ones. When I travel I usually make it a point to try new food, some cultures don’t have fries in their diet and they are all skinny, others use spices to give taste and not oils or fats. Discovering different values and ways to get by in life is really interesting. You also need to visit exotic new places and discover what this wonderful world has to offer.

Finally,New experiences increase our resourcefulness by living situations you would never encounter at home; this is a great experience for you when you come back to your routine. I have noticed that people who traveled a lot in life were ready to embrace change and have a natural ability to overcome problems that others would frown upon. For example, back in 2006, I had a chance to travel to the USA. It was a big challenge since I had to leave all my family members and my friends behind. I took the decision to travel. I learned in the USA a lot valuable things that I could not be able to learn it If I stayed in my country such as searching for my apartment alone, and cooking for myself. These experiences are really beneficial for my future.

As all things considered, while it is true traveling in our own country can benefit our country economically but traveling a broad has a lot of merits rather than traveling in our own country when it comes to gaining experience, knowledge, and learning a new language which leads us to get success in our life. Also, traveling abroad helps to break our regular routine, helps us to relax, and relieve our stress.