TPO 2 (independent)

It is a debatable topic how the budgets of universities and colleges shall be distribute between social and academic activities. When face with this decision, quite a few people would deem that, it is a good idea to spend most of the universities' budgets on academic issues, but others, in contrast, hardly believe that universities have to assign equal amount of money for the aforementioned activities as the premier choice and that is also my point. I would like to reinforce my opinion by three important reasons.

First, there is a general perception that, most businesses require people who are able to interact in society to a high extent; therefore, social activities are of high importance as academic activities. Definitely, there are many kinds of work in companies that cannot be done by a single person, as a consequent, social skills and team spirit are fundamental abilities for a student after graduation, as academical experts. If we support sports and social activities financially, students would have the opportunity to practice the prerequisites of their future job. For instance, playing football will bring a sense of belonging and experience team working for the students.

Second, there is an irrefutable evidence that, doing physical activities will reduce everyone's stress. Undoubtedly, students will feel exhausted after concentrating on an academical issue for long time; frustrated and tired people are not able to do intellectual activities as well as fresh and relaxed ones. Thus, doing sports will increase the students' efficiency during their education. For example, when I was studying for my master degree doing, doing Yoga exercises help me a lot to refresh my brain for concentrating on my classes.

Third, although academic education is the heart of universities, subsidize adequate money on sport and social activities as well as academic issues will not weaken academic standards for universities. Many universities throughout the United States have plenty of sport teams and have proved to be more successful than other universities, which do not care about social activities.

For these reasons, if universities' administrators pay equal attention to academic and social activities, they would be successful to prepare students for their future developments.