TPO-21 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

Jobs are the ultimate goal of many peoples life. We are told from the beginning of our school and also in our college life to studying hard if we want our dream job. However, I do not fully comply with the statement that hard work is more important than soft skills to get a job. The reasons for my preference are explored in the further essay.

If we cannot relate well with other people how are we supposed to understand what we have to do in that job? Consider a case of an individual being interviewed for a job. If that fresher guy is asked the question “why he wants to join that company?” and provided that he does not relate himself with the company, then he would certainly give some vague answer which would negatively impact the chances of that fresher being selected for that job. So knowledge of his field did not even matter in this case.

Another good example of this type of situation comes from my personal experience. Recently, some companies came to our college to recruit us. Being among the top 10 percentile in my field of studies I was very confident that I would easily get selected because I thought hard is the only requirement for the job. But interview happened and the results came out it was totally the opposite of what I assumed. The results were shocking to most of my friends. Students who got selected were average students for the complete 4 years of the college. Most of them were not even in the class, while we studied and did the hard work. However, they got the job and we did not. Later, we came to know that the students who were rejected didn’t show the required soft skills for the job. To put in another way, there was a lack of communications skills among us. That day, I realized hard work isn’t the only key to success. Moreover, take the example of different employability tests taken in every country, nowadays. These standardized tests more about logical reasoning i.e. how we perceive the world in order to find out how well we relate to the company’s ideals.

In conclusion, I think that hard work is definitely one of the important aspects of getting a job, however in my cases or experiences relativeness with others has come out to be more important than hard work.