TPO-22 : Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the contemporary society, teachers have become more and more influential to the students. This phenomenon arouses a hot debate over whether teachers should expose their social and political views known to students in the classroom. As far as I am concerned, teachers should not reveal their social or political views in front of students.

First of all, students are at the important stage of forming their values and they should be exposed to the objective views about the society and politic, instead of being influenced by the subjective views from their teachers. It is undeniable that some positive views from the teachers may help the students to view the world positively, but what if the teachers hold an negative views about our society? Students are just not mature enough to make judgement on those views.

Moreover, it may create conflicts in the classroom if the teachers express their social or political views, which are contradictary to the students' views. For example, the last presidential campaign of United States caused so much conflicts in the society because people support different parties were strongly against each other. If the students find out their teachers support the opposite party , their respect to the teachers may be discounted. Once this happens, not only conflicts will be created but also the students' academic performance may be affected.

Last but not least, not to discuss personal social or political views in unsuitable occasions is also a way to show respect to the other people. Same idea applies on the teachers as to respect their students in the classroom. Admittedly, everyone has the right to express their views about the society, but under the proper occasion. For example, if the teachers are invited to give a speech about a social topic, they may be allowed to express their opinion. Or if the teachers are asked by a student to discuss a political event privately, there is no problem to talk neither. However, it is just not proper to discuss their personal views in front of the whole class, which are not related the academic subject at all.

In summary, with the above stated reasons, I think teachers should not reveal their social or political views to the students in the classroom