TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

From the dawn of humanity, nurturing children has been of paramount importance to the parents. In this regard, some people believe that encouraging children to have a part-time job is a great approach to make them ready for adult life, while others might have an opposite view. I personally agree with the first group, and I will elaborate on my perspective in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, it is established beyond doubt that having a part-time job during adolescence will make teenagers more responsible. It is evident that having a job encompasses responsibility, and the best time for children to learn this is when their character is being formed. Mostly, teenagers spend their time with their friends and family; As a result, unless they have rigorous parents, they are not obliged to take responsibility for their actions. This raises the importance of having a job, teaching them to be responsible because they have duties at work. A recent study showed that business owners are more likely to trust employees who had a job during adolescence with big projects rather than those who solely had studied in school. This indicates that having a job at lower ages can make people more responsible and therefore trustworthy.

The second reason noteworthy reason is that having a job improves teenagers' social skills. Being in an environment that obliges a person to deal with people of different ages and ways of behavior leads to learning the ability to make proper contact. Furthermore, In today's world, teenagers are more concerned with technology and cyberspace than ever, making them separated from the real world. Hence, having a part-time job connects them to people and raises their social consciousness. To take one example, teenagers who work part-time are capable of communicating properly with other people in events like family gatherings. On the other hand, teenagers with no job are more likely to stay away from others and stick to their cell phones.

Furthermore, teenagers who work are more economically independent. When a person works, he or she does not take money from their parents, which makes them learn how to manage their money. On the other hand, teenagers who do not work tend to take money from their parents when they finish what they had taken before. However, having income can carry drawbacks for some bold teens. Some teenagers have a propensity to spend money in the wrong ways, such as buying cigarettes. This brings up a pivotal role for parents to control their children.

To put it briefly, having a part-time job has remarkable advantages for adolescents to become ready for their adult life. Among them are becoming more responsible, economically independent, and sociable.