The career of people has always been a crucial point in human life because it has a direct effect on the social status of people. Some people argue over this issue of whether parents should encourage their children to have a similar job just like themselves or a different job. However, in my opinion, this choice is heavily reliant upon conditions that everybody is exposed to.

First, in a modern society, especially industrial cities, having a job that is different with parents' job is more likely to happen. In a modern society, people are increasingly surrounded by technology and social media, as a result, people are often interested in different subjects and tend to pursue their interests as their own career. Furthermore, modern cities need a broad range of educated people with different knowledge for a wide variety of occupation in industrial companies. San Francisco, for instance, is a modern city in which Silicon Valley is famous region contains highly diverse high-tech jobs and industrials. Obviously, in such a modern city, children have probably more diverse jobs than a traditional city.

Second, in traditional cities, people tend to have a job that is similar to their parents. Agriculture and animal husbandry, for instance, are two types of prevalent occupations that people use them for subsistence in traditional cities. Indeed, in these cities the diversity of careers are limited. Furthermore, people have to preserve their land and continue to produce some products like crops to survive. Consequently, children are always encouraged to pursue their parents' job as their own job.

In conclusion, unlike some people, who insist on choosing to either continue the parents' job or start a different job as a better option for children, it is my strong conviction that given the condition that people live in, they should make a decision about the type of the future job of their children.