TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Needless to say, quality of education is of paramount importance not only for the encouragement of young people to enroll at the university, but also for establishing a reputation for the university. This brings up a highly controversial topic whether the university can improve his quality of education by dedicating more salary to professors or not. I believe that it is much more advantageous for colleges if college managers consider to supply laboratory equipment and recruit tutors for young people. I will elaborate on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the money is required for expanding university facilities and laboratory. In fact, most universities around the world have a few laboratory equipment and if university administrations consider renovating the afterward facilities, quality of education, especially in the experimental courses, will increase substantially. Therefore, students will learn better. My own experience provides an illuminating insight into this fact. When I was an engineering student at one of the recognized university in my country, I registered for the one of practical course. The laboratory for this course did not have sufficient equipment and even some of them was broken. Although we did not learn practical knowledge in the first session, the university decided to purchase new equipment for the rest of term. Hence, after investing money in expanding university's equipment, we comprehended class discussion completely, which, in turn, resulted in getting a high score at university examinations. Consequently, improving laboratory equipment is beneficial for raising the caliber of education.

The second point worth discussing is related to taking tutors. In other words, offering private tutors for students without payment is a good plan to enhance the quality of education. Young adults in the university exams often have a lot of problems regarding class discussions and textbooks. Nevertheless, the university can solve their students’ problems if they employ tutors for the students who have difficulty in understanding theory described in the classes. For instance, take my friend's experience, he is a senior level student at a college. Last semester while I was talking with him, he told me that he needed a help for his exams. I recommended him to take a private tutor but he told me that he did not have enough money for paying for a tutor. My friend had not comprehended textbook theories before I decided to teach him voluntarily for the sake of preparing him for tests and thus he passed all of his college examinations with a high mark. Not only did he grasp the textbooks' information well but he received more satisfying grades in the tests. This example suffices to illustrate my point of dedicating money to taking tutors for free of charge. As a result of this, hiring a tutor for university student needing assistance in the final exams will be a useful proposal that could increase the standard of education in the university.

In conclusion according to above-mentioned factor, I contend that juveniles as well as universities will benefit more from education if the money is allocated to enhance facilities and hire more tutors instead of raising university professor's wages.