TPO 33, Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

In the schools and universities, the students have some projects to do besides their studies. In these projects, they learn how to solve practical problems, and how to research on a specific subject. The projects can be done in a group or alone. There are some debates about whether it is better to do the school projects in a group or alone. In my way of thinking the students learn much more if they do the projects in a group because not only do they can share more ideas, but also they will be able to cover more area.

The first reason which should be stated here is that more people mean more opinion minds. Each student has their own particular idea which is not necessarily similar to others. Some ideas may have some benefits which cannot be found in others. Therefore, gathering various ideas will result in a solid and complete solution, so if the students work in a group they can share their own idea to solve the problems of the project better, while it will not be gained when they work alone. In addition, if people explain an issue for others they will get a deep understanding on that issue. While talking about their idea and the issues in the project, the students understanding will increase, this helps them to have a comprehensive knowledge of the issue.

The other point which deserves some words here is that doing a project in a group makes it more comprehensive. In groups, the members divide duties between individuals, each person tries to do their part perfectly, and each duty may be different from others. After combining the different works, the result will be more expanded, and the project will be done better which increase the student's knowledge. However, by working alone, the person cannot cover a vast area, even they if want to do cover whole the project, it takes them a long time and tired, then they could not do their job perfectly and cannot learn as much as when working in groups.

To summarize, it is better to assign group projects in the class, in this way students learn much more rather than working alone. In a group they share many different viewpoints, talk about the project to each other, they can cover more area of studies by dividing duties; All of these lead to better understanding and learning.