TPO 33, Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

It is beyond a shadow of doubt that education is a crucial juncture in the life of human being. In this realm, teachers are of great importance, since their methods of training and decisions have profound impacts on the future of the students. When it comes to this point, it is the question of many individuals that students should be assigned personal or group projects to learn more effectively. Personally speaking, I am of the conviction that group projects bring more benefits to the students; in what follows, I provide two conspicuous reasons to shed light on my response.

The first noteworthy reason which comes to my mind is that schools are multifaceted places, which grant students a great opportunity to improve their social activities and learn how to communicate appropriately with others. Entering the school is just the beginning of a life-long journey of getting educated in the first place, and socializing. During a group project, group members can learn how to tolerate personal differences since each person has his or her perspective to deal with a project. Inasmuch as the group success depends on teamwork, the students find out that they must think as a unit. As a result, when they grow up and enter the workplace, they become successful adults who know how to deal with their colleagues. Take five elementary students, whom are assigned with a biology presentation, as an example. If they spend their time arguing over the topic of the presentation, they cannot be adequately prepared for the assignment. After one or two days disputing, they finally realize that they should think as a person, pick up a topic, and start to prepare for the presentation. Regarding this lesson, these students are likely to become prosperous in future teamwork.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that by sharing different tasks in group projects, the student will be more specialized in the topic. Each student accepts a part of the job and spends his or her entire time on being a professional in the task. During group meetings, the students gather in a place, share their gained knowledge, explain the details to their co-workers, and address each other problems. Consequently, they can boost their learning more than the case of personal projects. To put it into a more vivid picture, when I was in high school, my classmate and I were supposed to build a simple mechanical device as an assignment. I decided to search for designs, and my classmates took the responsibility of choosing the materials. After one week, since our teacher was intrigued by our deep understanding of the topic, not only could we accomplish the assignment, but also we could start the second phase of adding more features to our device.

To recapitulate, one can conclude that group works can be more beneficial for the student since they increase social skills and boost the knowledge of the students.