TPO 33 independent writing-When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Teachers assign projects to make students work together is common in universities. A lot of people believe that it can lead students to get different perspectives which is inspiring. However, in my opinion, I disagree that doing assign project together is much more effectively than doing alone.

First of all, students can’t learn the subject thoroughly if multiple students sharing one assignment. Normally, it’s difficult for students to spend so much time to work together, so students would divide the assignment into segments to save time which is not helpful to study. Taking myself as an example, when my classmates and I are doing a group project, we would divide it into several parts because we are living at different places and don’t have so many time discussing with everyone. Each member pick one part he or she is interested, and one member unifying the information and responsible of the presentation. That is to say, students only know their own parts of the projects instead of studying with different angles, and student doing presentation is even not involving in the study part but only read out the script each members prepared in front of the classes.

Secondly, group assignments can easily cause giving scores unfairly from teachers. Students who contribute the most or least in a group are difficult to find out. As the result, lots of students would not be full-hearted on the assignment. To speak from my personal experience, there is always at least one person in the group taking no responsibility to one's part in every group assignments during the four years of my university life. However, those students would get the same scores with people who pay lots of efforts. Sometimes, teachers would think of different ways to give points. For example, they would ask students to evaluate and make comments to their team members, then they can give them different scores. Yet, it could sometimes bury the introverts’ efforts because introverts are mostly supports members silently.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that group projects can help students to learn how to cooperate with people which is an important ability after they graduate. Nevertheless, students can learn to cooperate with people in extracurricular, but theoretically, they can only learn academic field knowledge from classes and assignments.

In conclusion, I disagree that doing academic projects alone is less affective than doing in groups. If teachers are planning to teach by assigning group projects, they should make sure that every student can really discuss and finish the work together, and also have to think of ways to reward to students fairly.