TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.U

It is known that educate a child is not an easy task. However, educate a child in the contemporary world has become an even harder task than it was before, especially due to the technology development. The amount of time those children spend being exposed to smartphones, internet and media content can be extremely harmful, especially because they are inevitably getting in touch with these technologies earlier than they should. This premature exposure can result in illnesses like obesity, anxiety and unhealth behaviors, especially if we remind that children are not mature enough to control the technology use, wasting a lot of time online and enjoying less time offline, as well as exposing themselves to a virtual world that could be extremely dangerous to them, all things that didn’t happen in the past. In light of this, this essay will explain why I think educating children nowadays is harden than in the past.

First, if adults have problems controlling their internet use, imagine the effect with children. The excessive use of smartphones and social media can develop harmful habits for children’s lives, habits that they might take with them during their growth. When I was a child, my development in school was decreasing and only after a while that my parents found out that it was happening because I could not see the board. I developed myopia and had to start using glasses, everything as result of my excessive exposure.

Second, with the time children spend online, they could be practicing exercises, interacting with other children or even having a better night of sleep. Internet makes time pass faster, and children are not mature enough to measure how much time they spend online. I remember that my mother gave me a video game and I spent an entire day playing, I did not even stop take a shower, which with the pass of time, made me gain weight.

As last, internet is a huge parallel world. The contact between people are way much easier and, consequently, more dangerous. Everyone can be anonymous in Internet, which make easier to pedophiles get in touch with children. I had a 12-year-old neighbor who met a guy in the internet and when she went to meet him, he was actually a 54-year-old man.

To sum up, these are one of the main reasons why I agree with the fact that it is harder to educate children nowadays than in the past. However, I think that parents should be more concerned about introduce this kind of technology so soon, and should monitor their children, once they are not mature enough to distinguish what is good or not for them.