TPO 37 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because people are busy doing so many different things, they do very few things well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People hold different attitudes towards whether one person should do various things at the same time to optimize his schedule or focus his time and energy on few things to get them done with flying colors. In my opinion, I give my vote to the latter argument. There are two reasons for my view which I will explore in the following essay.

On the one hand, people want to do multitasking to make use of their schedule. For example, a student can do one or some part-time jobs during his terms to make ends meet. On the other hand, the amount of hours in a day is limited to 24 hours, part of which is consumed to do basic personal needs. As such, there are a few hours left for professional activities. Should a man carry out many distinct tasks during the day, time frame for each activity is inadaquate. As the result, he is unable to do things adequately especially intricate ones which requires extensive time and efforts. My own experience is a compelling example. When I was a freshman student, I took a dual program hoping to get two bachelor degrees on both chemistry and physics. However, my grades were moderate because I had to take part into too many classes in a semester which meant that I had little time to study each subject thoroughly. After one year, I made my decision to dedicate time to only chemistry major and then I got much better outcome.

Secondly, there are always some tasks which are more vital or difficult than the others. Therefore, it is necessary that we allocate extensive resources including time and mind to finish them successfully. If we, on the other hand, carry out different things together with these important ones, we are unable to gain comprehensive understanding or knowledge of those matters. An exemplary example is becoming a pilot. Maneuvering an airplane especially a passenger carrying one is so complicated that one pilot is required to spend most of his time learning the principles of a single type of aircraft. As the result, few pilots can control both Airbus A320 and Boeing 737 aircraft despite the fact that those 2 models are pretty similar.

In conclusion, those abovementioned reasons put weight to my view that when people do a range of different things, they cannot do all of them well. There is an old saying that best describes this circumstance which is a rolling stone gathers no moss.