TPO 41 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We all have good and bad memories with our teachers throughout the years we spent in school, and despite the love or hate relationship, teachers surely should be respect and valued for their efforts. One of the most controversial questions is whether the teachers are getting less respect over the years ? From my perspective, I find that true and in the following paragraphs, i will adduce the reasons.

Firstly, everyone in past had the ability to pursue his/her studies to become a teacher, actually not everyone had the ability to go to school at the fist place, must parents pushed their kids to learning basic maneuvers that could offer them a simple good life Like farming, blacksmithing etc… . Moreover pursuing studies to become a teacher was considered a big accomplishment that requires sacrificing the money and the time with the family since most universities were in the capitals or the big cites . Now and because of the availability of universities and the awareness of parents, the number of teachers has increased to the point that some of them are unemployed and that made the teachers less valued than before.

Secondly, in the past there weren’t multiple sources of education and knowledge besides books and schools, so students were aware of the importance of the teacher and the opportunity they were given, and that was shown through the respect they had for their teachers. In the other hand nowadays and with the help of the one of the biggest breakthroughs in the history of human kind, which is the internet, we are able to find all sort of information by one click. As a result the internet reduced the need of going to schools and helped emerging the concept of homeschooling, and that’s one of the reasons why teachers lost their values in the modern world.

Last but not least, one of the reasons students respected and valued the teachers in the past was based on fear. Teachers had the right to beat the students if they did something wrong or inappropriate. In the last few years many lows were established, banning the beating in schools regarding the negative effect it has on the students, thus it helped building a friendly bond between the teacher and the student.

To conclude we all remember at least one teacher who had a positive impact on our lives maybe because they were able to teach us what our parents could’t, or maybe just because they were friendly and put a smile in our faces, and that is why we need to appreciate and respect them more.