TPO 41 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are responsible for molding and shaping the minds of our young generation. Some people believed that in the past teachers are more appreciated and valued by the society than they are today. In my humble opinion, I think that teachers are more appreciated and valued by our generation. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, in the past, the education of the teachers are not well diversified and they don't have the necessary experience to teach students, whereas today professors are more knowledgeable and equipped with the proper tools to teach effectively with their students. My personal experience is a compelling example of this, my sophomore professors is very smart and intelligent person, his background and graduate studies comes from prestigious school and he is well qualified to teach. Also, he also continued with his master's degree before staring teaching in school and we are truly lucky to have him in our school. In the past professors are only required to finish their college degree in education and pass the board exam, but in this generation teachers are continuously educating themselves to become better in their profession. Parents seeks this qualification from their children educator because they know that their offspring will gain many knowledge and information from their teachers. This illustrates that our society appreciates and valued the teaching profession today compared in the past.

Secondly, educators always brings out the best in their students. Many people become successful because from the guidance and teachings of their professors. In this era, teachers has many method how to motivate and inspire their pupils to excel and strive in their studies. As a result, our society produced brilliant graduates which will become future businessman, CEO and president of the company. For instance, my friend christian was well taught by his professor in college and he was groomed to be successful in his career. Christian was seen with potential by his professor and motivated him well to study better. After graduation, Christian landed a career in a big company in Makati and started first as assistant editor and later on promoted as Chief Editor in just two years. This moment, Christian is well known in publishing business and he really excelled in his craft. This example shows that teacher are valued by the people in our society because they have the talent to help the students reach their maximum capabilities.

To summarize, I believe that our society today appreciate and value our teachers. This is because they can bring the best talent and capabilities from their students and they are more qualified teachers compared in the past era.