TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The teachers are one of the most valuable figures in society, they have the responsibility to form and educate the new generations, and the features of the future world it is all upon them. Unfortunately, I believe that nowadays the teachers are underestimated and not appreciated as they should be. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, the modern students have lost the respect and consideration for their own teachers, in fact, there is an increase in TV news and Facebook posts about episodes of students that use verbal violence towards their teachers. For example, there was this video online where a high school student was shouting at his professor because he got a bad score on the math test. This totally contrasts with my past experience as a student, when I was in high school, I do not remember even a single similar episode of those happening now in schools. When a was a high school student, every time I or one of my schoolmate had a bad score in any test, our first thought was to ask for explanations and try to get a better score on the next test, and not cast doubt on our teachers' judgment, nowadays students are more aggressive and have lost the respect for the teacher, and very often they are overprotected by their own parents who blame the professors instead of their children for not to have studied enough for a test.

Second, even the government seems to not take the professors into the right considerations, the educational system has changed from the past, nowadays the teachers are treated as a mere employee and they are moved from school to school, often they have to leave a classroom in the middle of the school year or worse change a few schools to get the full working hours in a month. Personally, I think that this has lead to a decrease in the quality of the teaching. Teachers are, as mention before, very important figures in society and they need to be able to do their job in the best environment and working system. My auntie is a teacher at secondary school, she told me that it is very difficult to do her job nowadays because they have to spend more time worrying about how to deal with a new work system and with always more aggressive students and parents.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that because of the aggressiveness of the nowadays students, busy and overprotective parents and a new complicate work system, the teachers are losing the importance that they had in the past.