TPO-42 - Independent Writing Task Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

How many types of tasks that employees have during workday has usually great influence on their satisfaction. Even though some people might say that workers are usually more satisfied if they have the same duty every day, others prefer to have multitasks. I agree with the latter one because that is what helps employees to improve and makes them enjoy their time at work.

First of all, workers are usually worth more if they have more experience. Many companies send their employees abroad to improve their skills and gain knowledge in various areas. In fact, what those companies do is that they prepare multifunctional employees so that they can let these people work at many departments. That way, they could hire one employee to work in various areas instead of having one for each specialty. As a matter of fact, employees also benefit from that experience since they can add that to their resume. By way of example, I worked as a pharmacist in a hospital, and I worked in inpatient and outpatient pharmacies. It was very easy for the manager to assign me anywhere at which there is a shortage in stuff. Moreover, I took the advantage of having this broad experience, and I applied to another job. I got acceptance very quickly because of my skills and experience. That broad knowledge benefits me as well as the employer.

Secondly, people usually tend to work hard and be more productive if they enjoy what they do. However, doing the same duty every day with the same people seems to be boring. In addition, workers might be asked to do a specific task that they do not like, which of course affects their satisfaction. For instance, using the aforementioned example, when I was asked to work at inpatient pharmacy I was bored and I could barely do my job because it was a close place and I did not have contact with many people. However, whenever my supervisor asked me to work at outpatient pharmacy, I was enthusiastic because I like other pharmacists there and I feel comfortable working with them. Furthermore, I have contact with many patients every day, the thing that I enjoy. The reason beyond which I quit that job is that because they assigned me to work at inpatient pharmacy perminently. I could not do that because I do not enjoy working in that environment. I looked for another job where I could be more comfortable.

In conclusion, I believe that people are more satisfied when they have more than one task to do during the workdays. Not only will that benefit them and broaden their experience, but it also let them work in their comfort zone.