TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing th

Undoubtedly, modern life is associated with more complexity in today life that limits the free time for families to spend together. This brings up a controversial question: How could parents plan to best use of the limited time they have with their children? Personally speaking, I strongly believe that the best way is that parents help their children to do their homework. There are two major points in support of my viewpoint that are discussed in the following passage.

Firstly, helping children to do their schoolwork is an excellent way to extend their knowledge. When parents spend some time to help their children in their assignments, they would share their information, experience and ideas with their children. Definitely, children learn some basic knowledge from their books, but a knowledgeable parent goes beyond the books and enables his or her child to search more to find out latest news or the recent research related to each topic. Encouraging parents may also encourage their children to study more updated resources and publication in order to find more practical applications of each subject area. For example, a mother may provide her child an opportunity to visit a monument so as to better understand its aesthetic or architectural characteristics that has been already discussed in his history class. Therefore, all these activities give the child better understanding of each subject area.

Furthermore, learning more fun when children do their school assignments with their parents. Wise parents know their children’s interests and they would find it a good way to make their children deeply interested in learning. If a child is interested in cartoons, a knowledgeable parent would offer his or her child an educational cartoon that enables the child to learn more about a specific topic and exploit that knowledge to do a better job in an assignment. For instance, a watching a cartoon about bees would be certainly advantageous for a child to do her project on the lifestyle of bees. Besides this, doing schoolwork together makes it possible for parents and children to find some leisure time to play some educational games that makes learning process more interesting for children.

To summarize, taking into account all these factors, I conclude that it is better for busy parents to spend their free time to help their children with their homework because it would enable children to increase their knowledge and to enjoy learning more; therefore, it benefits the both sides, i.e. parents and children.