TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing th

The activities that parents should spend time with their children has always been a controversial issue among psychologists. While some people believe that parents should spend time with their children in regard to improve their grades in school, there are others holding the view that spending time with children to play games or sports is better. As far as I am concerned, playing games, sports, and other activities that are not related to school have better effects in the parent-child relationship. I will vindicate my standpoint in the following article.

The first point that juts out of the mind is the fact that playing games or sports are fun. Otherwise stated, schoolwork has always been a boring task to children and on the other hand, playing games and sports has always been joyful for the children. Moreover, activities that are joyful would remain in the memory better than the boring activities. As a result, children who have played games or sports with their parents will remember these joyful moments for the entire of their life. An example of my own experiences can illustrate this. When I was in primary school my father took me to pool every weekend and taught me swimming. The memories of each swimming session are still in my mind as best moments of my childhood.

The second point that is worth considering is the fact that playing games and sports have a significant effect on children's mental health and physical growth. Almost all of the sports need a mental and physical activity. Moreover, the performance of mind and body improves by exercising. As a result, doing sports will make children more clever and healthy. Moreover, this will affect children's school performance in a positive way. An example can give some light to this issue. A child who plays soccer with his father every weekend will be more energetic in school than a child who spends the whole weekend on doing his homework.

To make a long story short, parents who play sports, games and doing other physical activities with their children will improve children's abilities in a way that they could do well in all aspects of their life. All in all, when a parent does not have a lot of time to spend with his child, he should choose the best activity in that they will make most desirable memories.