TPO 45- In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives

It is a matter of fact that children always rely on their parents in any kind of situation and even after growing up the advice of parents plays a vital role in decision making. I personally think that though in the past teenagers relied on their parents for deciding for them, now-a-days they prefers to take their own decision. I feel this way for two reasons that i will like to explore in the essay below.

First of all, if we look back in the past, we might found that most of the young generation opted for some specific occupation considered as established job in that time and chose to study some specific subjects accordingly. It has a great deal of the choice from the parents.For example in my country Bangladesh,once upon a time all parents wanted their children to study in medical so most of the peers tried to get admitted at any kind of medical, government or private. But now-a-days young people understands their own liking and choose their subject of study and job accordingly. That is why there are more people majoring in arts, music, dance and any other subjects emerging from the decision of their parents.

Secondly, if we consider one significant decision of anybody's life, " Marriage", it also was decided by the parents in the past. There is a lot of example of arranged marriage in the past There was time, when parents would set marriage of their children for friendship or heredity or property and after being teenager or grown up, the children had to just abide by. It was so common to set marriage between the children at very young age specially in case of girls. But now young people prefer to choose on their own whom to marry and when to marry. The example of girls deciding not to marry at a early age and building a career instead has increased exponentially in the past few decades.

Therefore, it can be averted without doubt that the tendency of depending on parents for making decisions for them is far less in the current young generation than the young generation of the past.