Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

In this era of technology, every aspects of communicating is very advanced and e-mailing is one of the most significant among them. Considering the huge impact it bears in the communication of any company, this prompt suggests that e-mail correspondence of the company employees needs to be monitored in a routine basis by the company management. In my opinion, i strongly disagree with this stance for two reasons.

while, the idea of having a check on the e-mail correspondences of the employees may seem very appealing to the authority, it is clearly unethical and invading in the personal space of a citizen and so to some extent against the law. For instance, if an employee chooses e-mailing as a medium for communicating with his family and close ones, he may share his personal issues in his mails. Now, if he comes across with some issues with the authority, it is very possible that he may vent out his stress via e-mail. Now this can create a really complicated situation. While it will clearly impact negatively on his image in the company, in reality, he didn't do anything wrong. Nevertheless the consequences will be against him. Thus, this one step hugely invades in the personal space of any employee and therefore ruins the a healthy atmosphere for working. Moreover, if any employee decides to take chances for better opportunities in other companies, via the monitoring it will create an upheaval in his image to the authorities. This is something expected the least by any employee.

Further, in reality this whole monitoring process will use a lot of resources like time and system capacity which is exactly opposite to the expectation of the company.For instance, if a company has 200 employees, and it decides to monitor the e-mail correspondences of each employee in a routine basis, the company will need manpower for this job and they will need huge time and technical capacity to do the whole process of monitoring. It has to either recruit more employees or allot existing employees this job in the place of other company works. In both way, the company is increasing the cost in cost of less efficiency. So clearly, this step is far away from full filling the very purpose of this step.

Of course, some may say that for the sake of the company's own security and benefit, monitoring the digital communication of the employees is a good initiative. But something unethical and harmful for the employees can hardly increase the efficiency of the company consisting the very employees. It will only upset the workers. So, no matter how effective it may look, monitoring the digital communication of the employees is an impractical and unethical idea.