Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

According to the proposed policy, the company regular monitoring of employee e-mail correspondence will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity and will also protect the company from lawsuits. There were certain underlying assumptions that were considered in order to propose the policy and if those assumptions do not hold in all circumstances, then the policy might not be able to achieve its desired goal.

At first, it is assumed by the policymakers that only monitoring the e-mail correspondence will shed light on the factors that should be should be held responsible for the waste of resources. It is assumed that time and system capacity discrepancies can be visualized through e-mail correspondence. However, it might be possible that some employees are working from home and they are using their home network to access the company e-mail server and doing their job from home and thus they are taking unnoticed leave from office whereas other employees are using their office's system to access the e-mail and thus using the system capacity. Therefore, evaluation of employee efficiency can be crucial only based on time and system capacity.

Secondly, it is assumed that employees might use their official e-mail in order to share the company's confidential data with other rival companies or some outsiders. There might be a possibility that employees can use some other fake email account to share confidential data or they can even meet some outsider during the office break and pass on the information through verbally or in a written format. Therefore, the employee official e-mail correspondence will not highlight the act of that particular employee and thus the employee can easily get away with the act of violation of code of conduct.

Finally, it is assumed that employee e-mail correspondence monitoring will not break the law of protection of personal information. There is no mention in the policy that permission will be taken from the employee to access their official e-mail account and moreover it is assumed any kind of information extracted from the e-mail will result in the association of lawsuits with the company.

To sum up, there are some underlying assumptions that were made in the policy and if those questions are answered with evidence then the policy might fail to achieve the desired effect.