People should question the rule of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

From the beginning of the human civilization there was a philosophy that the success of a society depends on discipline and co-ordination and the discipline is maintained by imposing justified rules. The prudent personalities hold the position of authorities and ensure prosperity of a society. But, sometimes it becomes imperative to hold a position against the rule not the authority. It would be a judicious decision to maintain a middle ground whether to appreciate certain rules or not.

The circumstance of a particular situation is the basic parameter in order to decide its bright side or the other one. Whenever, the authority decides to generate certain rules , it’s imperative that the public have the right to question the rules and its benefits. But it must be crystal clear that the skeptical reasoning is only related to those rules and that does not include the authority. There must be an open ground for discussion for both the authority and the people, who are going to maintain those rules .Otherwise, it’s common that the authority will be regarded as autocratic one’s and that will eventually lead to cacophony in the orchestration of the society. For instance, in 1952, the language movement in Bangladesh took place because of the autocratic attitude of the government because the authority denied to hear out the common mass and the whole country stood against the unjustified decision of the government. If the common mass had embraced the declaration of the government passively that would have been results in depriving themselves from the right of communicating in their own mother tongue. In this circumstances, the rule of the authority must be questioned before embracing it blindly.

Moreover, the skepticism towards rules may lead to some positive effects in the society which was observed in the past. If we turn our focus on the primitive innovation of the basic facts of science, that might become more clear to us. For example, Galileo’s theory on the revolution of the planets. When he proved the theory that earth revolves around rather being the opposite, he was jailed for his statement but after a decade this was proved absolute true fact and a new dimension is added in the field of science. If he had not question the facts ,then there was a possibility that the advancement of scientific development would have become standstill. Whenever, a theory contradicts with the present facts, it’s become imperative to become skeptical towards it so that this restless curiosity of truth will leads to a new innovation that flourishes civilization directly or indirectly.

On the other hand, in some cases rules in area of politics, economy or educational level bring higher good of all. Due to personal preference, one may not support certain rules but questioning every rule will lead to tumultuous and unpeaceful environment. For example, there are specified rules in the roads and every citizen must abide by those rules in order to avoid road accidents. In educational institution, there are rules which is must for the students so that every student get exposure to basic level of knowledge. In such cases similar to aforementioned one, the people should not express their freedom of right because that will cause detrimental consequences for them.

To conclude, there must a balance of both. People should question the rule of authority from time to time but should avoid questioning every rule because that would hamper conductive environment.