TPO-48 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because modern life is very complex, it is essential for young people to have the ability to plan and organize.

The idea that today's life is elaborate and intricate has become a cliche which no one will argue against. At the same time, there is no unity of opinions about whether an ability to plan and organize is essential for youngsters and young adults or not. As far as I concerned, the ability is a crucial characteristic of a successful person. The reasons on which my prospect is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, studying at all levels from elementary school to university demands from students to be organized and be able to plan their activities ahead. The system of modern education was designed to give as much as possible knowledge and skills within the shortest span of time possible. Consequently, a day of today's pupil consists of five to seven subjects which must be taught and repeated. A student has to plan when and what he is going to learn. By contrast, our predecessors studied under simpler program which had a goal to teach a child to write, read and do basic math.

Secondly, to be successful in today's workplace without having an ability to plan one's day is merely unthinkable. Our workplace is saturated with means of communications which allow us to learn news, and latest information via the internet or social media and our cell-phones made us available for contact 24/7. Today we have our business partners and colleagues who live in different time zones, on other continents and countries, thus we need to plan our day and organize it in order to be able to work with others and be predictable for them as well. Of course, in the past an average workplace looked simpler; a worker had a desk and papers on it, probably a typing machine and several pencils. It was a slow life which was less demanding of ability to plan and organize.

Admittedly, there are some reasons which may be mentioned by a person who believes that today's person may live happily without ability to plan and organize. Chiefly, one may aver that everything is organized for us and without us. We have automated assistants such as Siri who will do the job. However, I still buttress that the ability to plan is crucial for a person because Google and iPhone assistants those names of a few have quite a limited range of options. A person who heavily relies on such technology has become their hostage who cannot live in a modern world without them.

To wrap up, the ability to plan and organize is essential for a modern citizen, in fact, we cannot study, we cannot work without the ability and any electronic substitutes will not help a person, who does not have the ability to plan, to be successful.