TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Friends are important part of our life who help in the growth of the individual. Some people love to have lots of friends while some people prefer to have long term friendship with a few friends. In my opinion, long term friendships with a few friends contribute to our happiness more than many new friends. I feel this because of two reasons which I will explore in the following passage.

To begin with, we trust our old friends more than new friends. Trust is an important part of any relationship and it comes only with time. We always hesitate to trust those friends whom we meet few days ago as compared to trust those friends who have been with us for many years. For instance, last year, when I was thinking to start a new computer shop, I needed a partner in this business. But as I was starting new business, I wanted a trustworthy partner. I had to choose between my new friend, Nimisha and my old friend, Riya. I was more comfortable to trust Riya as I have been with Riya from last 10 years. In the end, I decided to start my business with Riya as my partner.

Further, old friends know us better than new friends. Friends who have been with us for a long time, would definitely understand us better and friendship without understanding is not a worthy one. We need our friends in our hard times and if a friend does not understand our feelings, he could not help us. I can give my personal example to support this. I failed in university’s last semester exams. It was devastating for me and my family as I was not expecting that I would not be able to get passing marks. At that time my childhood friend, Jasmine, helped me to come out of that sorrow and to summon confidence so as to reappear for university’s exams. She helped me a lot to prepare for exams and finally, I passed the exams.

In conclusion, I, strongly, believe that strong friendship with a few friends is better for happiness than making lots of new friends. This is because we can trust old friends easily and because they understand us much better.