TPO 49 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Relationship development is of prominent importance in daily human life. I am of the conviction that having some long-lasting relationship with others is more important. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following passage.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that having a stable relationship helps us to trust our friends in our life problems. Establishing a relationship is not as difficult as holding a good relationship. Once you have a friend who has been with you for several years, you can easily trust him. In fact, you have experienced a lot of different situations with him or her. My own experience is compelling evidence of this concept. Five years ago, when I just arrived at university, I met my first university friend. We retained our relationship for several years and had some enjoyable and sad adventures. Since our relationship was strong; I always was able to rely on him in all of my difficult situations. On the other, my brother used to find some individual and after a while, leave them. Consequently, he couldn't trust his friends because he knows that his relation wouldn't last for a long time. As you see, having a strong relationship helps establish the foundation of trust, which benefits us in the harsh situations of life.

Another noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that practicing a long-lasting relationship with someone would help us to improve our skills for handling our future matrimony. Since marriage is a promise for both men and women to stay with each other until their demise, experiencing a long friendship relation would help us for that purpose. For example, when my father was young, he had a friend for more than three decades. Accordingly, he learned that if a relationship is going to stay stable, both persons should learn to sacrifice in their life. This helped my father to use this idea during his life with my mother. When my father and mother had a conflict about moving to a new place, my father relinquished, and kept his relationship. My father and mother relationship would have ended up to divorce if my father had not sacrificed his desire.

To put it briefly, all the counted reasons lead us to the conclusion that having a stable and durable relationship is far better than ability to make friends easily because not only during a steady relationship, you can trust your friend on life difficulties, but it would be a good practice to prepare us for our future matrimony.