There is no doubt humans couldn't survive if it weren't for their social ability to make friends and support each other. That being said, one of the hallmarks of friendships is fluidity and friendships simply peter out at any stage of life. Therefore, in order to stay content, I believe it is more important to have the ability to make new friends than to persist on maintaining same old friendships.

First of all, as mentioned above, friendships are never guaranteed to be stable and can easily fade away as time goes by. When friends grow up, they also begin to grow apart due to different interests and living enviroment. That makes the attempt to hold one's friend circle strong together a challenging and possibily arduous task. I once had a group of close friends from high school and we promised to be best friends forever as all friends would do. However, after graduation, we started to move to different towns for pursuing college and it was hard to meet up on a regular basis as before. Since our lives started to develop differently and we don't even know how the others are doing, I think we all agree our friendships don't bring happiness as they used to. This had happened before when I left primary school and secondary school, so I hold a strong opinion that it's a healthier option to move on and find new social connections, rather than holding onto old friends who we are no longer close to.

Secondly, it is safe to say possessing the ability to easily be friend with other people can be considered a beneficial advantage. With every new friendship we are able to gain, it is almost like a new door into the world has opened to us. No friend is the same and new pals who come at different points of life tend to give us different experience and lessons. Back to my story, my life seems to have changed for the better when I reached out and made friends at college and then at work place. For example, my new classmates were the ones who taught me to take care of my mental health when I was stressed about losing my old friends. And I learned some meaningful life lessons and got to do a lot of things for the first time when I was with my first colleagues who agreed to be friends with me. Although we are not as close as before, those lessons and memories stay. That really got me looking forward to meeting new friends who will add new pieces into my life mosaic.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the ability to be friends with new people in our life plays a more important role in achieving happiness in life than the ability to keeping old friendships strong. This is because I know in reality friendships don't usually last long, and having new social connections can benefit humans in developing themselves.