TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

The human life is compound by some kind of relationships. Each one has a role in our lives and it helps to support our emotions and feelings. Friendships are very important for us and maintaining long lasting with some people is really more important for happiness than have many new friends. I agree with it because long lasting friendships build confidence, companionship, and strong bonds.

Confidence in other people is a very important feeling because it helps us have somebody to share emotions and doubts about some events in our lives. For instance, when I was pregnant I had some thoughts about the baby, if she/he was good, healthy, that kind of doubts that all mothers have. In this time I had a very nice friend, that we have had been friends for more than 10 years at that time. I really trusted her and I felt very confident in share my feelings with her. She helped me a lot being supportive and kindly. I had a very happy pregnancy with her support.

Companionship is another aspect that we build in long lasting friendships and it is very valuable because it brings us complicity in a relationship. In the past, I had a very hard time when I finished the University and I began to work. I felt my life so different with too many new tasks and routine that I felt lost. But, I had a friend that followed these changes in my life and supported me to readapt in that new life. Her behavior helped me to overcome the difficulties and find happiness again.

Finally, build strong bonds are very relevant in our lives because they ensure that we will have someone to count on and this kind of felling help us to be happy. For instance, if we have some health problem and need helping to do some task or some commitment, and we have a good friend with strong bond, this person, certainly, will help us.

Altogether, maintaining long lasting friendship with some people, what bring us confidence, companionship, and strong bonds, is more valuable for happiness than have many friends without have enough time to build up important characteristics in a friendship.