TPO 5, Task 2: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People now spend much of their time on personal enjoyment and doing things they like, instead of doing what they should.

In my opinion, nowadays, people really spend most of their time on unimportant or less beneficial things. it is, of course, a choice of a person whether he spends his time in an appropriate way or not, but I think there are some reasons that can prevent a person from doing that in a right way. A few points about this problem are presented below.

On one side, in our century there are lots of ways to make our life more convenient and to manage more that people could do without current opportunities. On the other side the variety of choices and enjoyment can result people to deviate from their main aims or responsibilities and, of course, from their daily works. For example spending a lot of time in internet or playing computer games takes a lot of time from people.

For me, one of the reasons why people prefer spending their time on their own enjoyment is that being too busy in a workplace or so makes people avoid doing more tiring things and just to relax or enjoy their time. For example, I have many relatives who are very busy during their work time, so when they are at home they do not want to take over any other work and want to spend their time on something, which will not take them neither physical nor mental efforts.

The second reason is that there are many choices of enjoyment, fun and it is natural that people would prefer these to working hard. it is very important that a person really loves his job, otherwise, he will always seek to spend his time on things he really does not need to do. In my experience, there were many cases when I had to do a work which was not preferable for me and as it was too boring I always wanted to spend my time on doing any possible thing but doing my main work.

To conclude with, I can say that people really spend their time on things they really do not need to. The reasons are many and probably depend on a choice or a lifestyle of a person. Nevertheless, it will be a perfect choice to combine responsibilities with enjoyment.