TPO 50 - do you disagree with the statement or agree? all the university students should require to take history courses no matter what their field is. use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Since the dawn of the civilizations, human beings have always experienced same and repeated situations. There is a widespread belief that history reoccurs, and there are some notable examples which clarify, and illustrate this claim. Then history can play a pivotal role in people's lives and perspectives. A controversial question which arises here is whether all universities should require to take history courses no matter what their field of study is or not. In my point of view, I agree with this idea. In the ensuing lines, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons to advocate my viewpoint.

The first reason coming to mind, which is concerned with this issue, is that history provides insight. There are some undeniable lessons that we can take from reading the fate of a ruthless emperor or diaries of a significant scientist or hobbies of a poet. Each can broaden our horizons and perspective through the life. For instance, in my country Iran the stories of Cyrus the great, a decent king in the ancient history of Persian empire is the lullaby of mothers for their children. It provides a good role model of traits and manners for children.

Secondly, I believe it can give us an instruction for similar cases. As it was mentioned, history reoccurs from location to location, and from time to time. The more we know about the historical events and historical decision that has been made through crucial moments, the more we are able to reconcile them with our cases. For example, the decisions that Alexander the great has made through his conquers. They can be a perfect paradigm for every ruler.

The last reason but not the least important one is that it can help students to know their roots, traditions, and culture better. In my opinion, nationalism must be an integral part of an individual's characteristics. Nowadays, many people lost their hope over their country and might abandon their home and it will cost their country in many direct and indirect ways, Which I think had they known more about their culture and traditions, they have had more enthusiasm toward their country and would not let their country down. For example, in the 18th century in the United States, after 300 years of Christopher Columbus landed his ship to this newly discovered continent, people in the United States started to commemorate the date of his arrival in order to trigger nationalism among people. It was due to the fact that the then government of the United States was aware of the benefits of spreading nationalism.

Finally, from what has been discussed above, we may reach the conclusion that the university students should be required to take history classes. It is hard to disguise the insight that history gives to the students, and the affection it might give to broadening their horizons. Besides that, it makes students intrigued to their country and boost nationalism among them.