TPO 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Nowadays the issue of allocating the resources of a nation would be a critical problem for the government cause the resources are limited but the issues need a lot of attention. While some people believe that the governments should expense more money on the arts than in support of athletics. In my opinion, I would disagree with it. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, the state-sponsored Olympic teams would be a beneficial investment because they would embellish the reputation of the nation and bring more attention from the other foreigners. As a result, it would lead to other advantages. It is no doubt that the Olympic event is one of the most famous and huge events in the world, which has many people come from around the world to watch the biggest sport in the world every 4 years. So this is a great place to advertise and let other people know about our country by investing in Olympic teams. They would impress the people not only by their performance in the game but also their garments and the clip about the beautiful nature of that nation. For example, from my experience, before the Winter Olympics in 2016, I have not known anything about Croatia, but their performance and especially their outfits have impressed me about a nation having many colorful and many breathtaking views.

Secondly, even many people like sports but only several kinds of sports getting attention from the public. There are many athletics from the other sports even though they have brings a lot of valuable metals for the country, no one knows or even remembers them. In my country, for instance, which is an Asian country, the most favorite sport is soccer, and they would fund a lot of money for their favorite athletics even, to be honest, the soccer team does not achieve any big prize in the level of the world. However, the volleyball team of my country got first place in Olympics 2 times, there is only a small number of people concerning or knowing about this event. And these athletics, even they acquired many admirable achievements, still need to work part-time besides their training because there are not enough resources from the government to help them have a better life or facility for training.

In conclusion, although both arts and sports need support from the government to develop, I believe that athletics need more attention and funding from the government more because they are delegates for a country when going into global gaming. They would bring more good impression for their country and from that lead more benefits. Moreover, there are still many athletics that does not have enough support for either their life and training, even they have many achievements.