TPO11- Some people say that the internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this progressive world where we live, no one can turn a blind eye to the significant effects of advanced technology particularly the Internet on people's lives. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that the Internet has been providing numerous advantages for people. On the other extreme of the rope, others hold the opposite view, stating that its merits outweigh its demerits. Although both sides take their own positions, personally speaking, I firmly believe that the first group carries more weight. In the following paragraph, I will cogently explain my reasons to justify my viewpoints.

As the first and paramount reason, the Internet provides various useful information helping people develop their knowledge and expand their horizons. In other words, nowadays, with the advent of new and advanced based-Internet technology such as smartphones people can connect to the Internet and search about different topics easily. They can read different information, analyze them and try to obtain creative ideas. Consequently, they can find a viable solution and pragmatic and rational approaches to deal efficiently with their problems and unprecedented challenges effectively. For instance, research conducted by some scientists at a university shows that many students use numerous websites to complete their projects and assignments properly. High school students especially those who do not understand scientific problems use online encyclopedias and electronic librarians to complete their homework. In addition, they can watch several educational videos and read other’s comments on those websites and communicate with them to acquire their valuable experiences and new insights. Hence, the more the Internet people can access, the more useful information and knowledge they can gain and the more consistent improvement they will show in their performance in the near future.

The second reason coming to my mind to substantiate my viewpoint is that the Internet as an expeditious source of information can provide the best authentic news and up-to-date information for people. To be more specific, people can aware of the current and updated local and international news via the internet easily anywhere and anytime conveniently. Take my own experience as a compelling example. When I was a student at a university, I had to travel a long distance between Shiraz and Isfahan. Once a day, I could not access the Internet and get up-to-date news about climate conditions and know whether the weather is rainy or not. Unfortunately, in the middle of the road, the weather was snowy and foggy and I could not get to the dormitory. I had to stay in a small village for two days and spent a lot of money on repairing my car. In addition, I could not study well for my exam to pass it. Therefore, if I had accessed the Internet and gotten current climate news, neither would I fail my exam nor would I waste my money.

In conclusion, taking the above reasons into account, I strongly believe the Internet as an endless supply of knowledge has numerous constructive effects on people’s performance. Not only does it help people adopt new methods for coping with their problems, but it also provides informative news helping them become more updated.