Sometimes we are assigned to work in a group on a project. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The group will be helped more by the person who will be willing to do what other group members want than by the person who often strongly insists that things should be done in a way that is different from what the group wants to do.

In the rapidly changing environments of science, no tasks can be done by a single person. Collaboration and having respect for the other group members' ideas is an important factor that plays a crucial role in succeeding every group. Some are inclined toward the opinion that each member in a group can work separately and impact on the group's results. Actually, the group will be helped more by these persons. On the other extreme of the rope, others deeply believe that all members should consider others’ ideas and viewpoints and not insist that others obey them. While both sides take their own positions, personally speaking, I definitely think that the latter group carries more weight. In the following paragraph, I will explain my reasons.

As the first and paramount reason, if group members pay attention to others' points and advice, all members can talk about various subjects and their experiences without any limitation; thus, they learn each other and develop their knowledge and expand their horizons. Subsequently, they accomplish every project and achieve the best goals. For instance, some master students in a university studied several factories that had been consisted of different groups. The obtained result showed that the groups that their members always worked together closely had both more efficiency and higher performances in processing different tasks. Their members had a good and constructive relationship and discussed various subjects and tried to teach each other new and practical concepts. This collaboration and solidarity helped them think about various issues effectively and deal efficiently with several problems in order to find viable solutions. No one strongly insisted that things should be done according to his/her ideas and viewpoints. Because he/she knew that without other group members' proposals and advice, he/she couldn’t acquire new insights and valuable experiences. Therefore, the success of a group in completing any project depends on synchronizing members’ ideas with others.

The second reason coming to my mind to substantiate my viewpoint is, paying attention to others' ideas and advice in a group can show that their roles are undeniable and thoughts that are valuable have positive and influential impacts. Hence, group members put a lot of effort to improve their performances and do everything properly and efficiently. My personal experience is a good example to illustrate this. About two years ago, I was a manager of the quality control department of a company where ten engineers worked together in order to produce some initial products. My group members and I always talked about new techniques in production and tried to research and propose comprehensible ideas and optimal solutions. I had a lot of respect for them and considered their viewpoints and paid attention to their efforts and performances. Consequently, these treats encouraged them to analyze all positive and negative aspects of different issues and to try hard to find pragmatic approaches and solve the group’s problems.

In conclusion, considering and paying attention to other group members' ideas not only help them present their viewpoints and develop their knowledge but also encourage them to try hard to obtain remarkable achievements.