TPO7

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Understanding facts, ideas and concepts are essential cornerstones of education and no one can turn a blind eye to the significance of them. Some are inclined toward the opinion that it is impossible for a person to learn all facts and knowledge of a specific area. They profoundly believe that understanding concepts and ideas plays an undeniable role in students' education and lives, on the other extreme of the rope, some believe that students should pay more attention to learn facts. Although both sides take their own positions I think that the first group carries more weight for two reasons.

First of all, if students understand different concepts and learn various ideas of subjects, they can strengthen their mind, imagination and creativity, so they can apply it in solving different problems. They also can find new and unprecedented facts, ideas and theories that no one has found yet. For example, when the students think about the particular problem and want to solve it, they will try to apply the concepts and ideas which they learn past and this leads to find and learn more new facts and ideas and finally solve that particular problem creatively. Some professors at the Oxford University have been doing a broad research on the various educational methods and declared that teaching and conveying different ideas and concepts to students bring about finding new ideas and methods. They believe that 'learn to learn' is one of the most effective educational methods.

Second, learning ideas and concepts are foundational to the learning of facts. Without understanding and learning main concepts of particular issue or formula, the students will not learn facts effectively. Actually, understanding concepts let students learn other things easier and they can create facts on their own. For instance, there are many formulae in math and the students should use most of them for a particular exam. Memorizing all these formulae in very short period of time without knowing their concepts not only can confuse students and waste their time, but it also prevents them to apply that formula and get a higher score in exams. Because they do not know the basic concepts of that formula and do not have any ideas to apply them creatively for answering the other questions.

To put everything in a nutshell and broad lookover the main points and discussions reveals the fact that the students can improve their creativity by understanding various concepts and ideas and apply them to solving different problems and it is very important for students to learn main concepts in order to find out most facts without having to need to memorize them.