TPO30

Extending weekends seems to be nearly every employee and student’s dream. However, when we fully consider about its viability, we will realize that it is not a sound idea. Compressed workload may bring irregularity in life and our salaries, in all probability, will suffer from it.

First of all, this schedule will greatly affect our lifestyles. For example, if you have to work for 8 hours a day originally, now you will more than half the day in office, which means you can hardly find sometime to sleep after meals and housework. So in these three days you are drained by the heavy workload. Then, in the following four days, you will need to spend at least half of them on sleeping to get recovered. This kind of irregularity will impair out immune systems greatly, and we may catch cold more often. What’s more, our mental state will also be influenced. The high pressure in work days will make us more aggressive, and the slackness in weekends will make us a little bit depressed. But in the traditional 5-days form, we will get enough time to get rest everyday, and the pace of life will be decent.

Secondly, our productivity will not rise, and probably will decrease. The reason lies in that for most of us, keeping focus on work for 12 hours is nearly impossible. In fact, even in the 8-hours scheme, we may feel tired in the afternoon. When we do not possess enough energy for work, the extending time is totally idle time. Since we can hardly achieve the goal, out wages will decrease inevitably.