TPO31- independent Writing:

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

it goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world where we live, human beings confront with a great speed of changes due to the technological developments. however, recently, there has been an active controversy among the people over the very notion that whether this new developments lead to have happier and more satisfied people in the world or it just made them conversely sadder. although it is a little hard to reach a consensus, I personally adhere to the view that modern human is more likely to be sad and unsatisfied. The following paragraphs will elaborate more on this issue.

To begin with, in today's complicated life, people encounter with more economic burdens. they are constantly active to gain a subsistence wage to provide their necessities. In another word, they have to dedicate the majority of their time in a day to work, therefore there will not remain enough time to spend on their beloved activities such as going out with their family, playing game with children or even reading a good novel. An example can drive this notion home. I have worked for a top-notch company in a metropolis for last ten years; as other people say always I'm looking like a very happy individual with a prosperous job and a great family. however, my job with all the good point that it has, do not satisfy me. I have to work for prolonged time in a day. since my work-time is too long I do not have enough time to see my husband and my son. So this is very frustrating for me to continue such life. Nevertheless, my grandfather had a very ordinary job in a little local store. although he had a very low income, he had been always very glad because he do whatever he wished in his leisure time. Had I had a normal job like my grandfather, I would have been happier in my life.

In another point of view, thanks to the advanced technological breakthrough, we have access to a wide range of new facilities which can make our life easier and bring us an array of merits. however, these technologies are like a double-edged sword which has both merits and demerits. however I subscribe to the view that their drawbacks outweigh their benefits. they could turn us to people who always are seeking for diversity and variety in our life. since we see every new day a new version of technologies, such as mobile phones, cloths and cars, it is possible to become individuals keen to possess every new things we face with. As a case in point, as an in-depth study conducted in some developing countries indicated a hefty of citizens in todays' societies changed their mobile phone and house’s decorations once a year. While, it is no secret to anyone that this is just a sign of changeability and being fickle. On the other hand we definitely know that in our modern societies the percentage of people who is likely to catch depression are enhancing each year.

In conclusion, drawn upon the aforementioned reasons, I do believe that in todays' life people are less happy than they were in the past. because not only do they work harder than before and have less leisure time, but also we have more depressed people in our modern and progressed societies comparing to the past decades due to quick changes in the advent of new technologies, mods and fashions which make the people confused in the essence of life.