TPO7

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

It comes as no surprise that efforts to finding the best ways to improving students' efficiently have been always among the top priorities. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether it is better for student to learn concepts of subjects or it is better for them to learn the facts. I, to a great extent, concur with the idea that learning concepts and ideas is far better. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated by the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point that makes me hold this belief is that learning concepts helps students understand the rest of the course better. It goes without saying that all parts of any subject or course is closely related to each other. If students do not understand thoroughly one part, they will not understand the further sections. For example, I studied Chemical Engineer in the university. As I remember, when I was at university, I tried my best to work hard in the beginning of the semester to understand the concepts of courses like heat transfer, mass transfer, to name but a few. I was free in the rest of semester since I could answer all the question in that course based on my basic knowledge and learning the concepts. But other students wait until the last of semester and instead of rely on the concepts, solve problems to figure out what the course wants to teach. At the end, I got the best grades in the department and I was among the high ranked students in it.

Another reason deserving some words here is that learning the concepts helps students to improve faster than other students in academic and personal life. As a matter of fact, there are limited number of equations, concepts and rules on which world is based. If people learn few number of concepts in their area, they can exert them in their entire life. Consider second law of thermodynamic as a general rule exerted in many parts of our life. A students who is familiar with the concepts of this law, can exert it to many subjects and answer many questions about it.

Finally, yet importantly, learning the concepts is quite beneficial for students from a psychological standpoint. They can boost their self-confidence and self-respect. When students understand the ideas and can answer all the question related to a concept, they are encourage by other people which leads to flourishing their self-confidence. Perhaps a more specific example can shed more light on the matter. My cousin use to be a shy person, but he was really talented in his major. He understand the academic concepts really well and were encourage by family, friends and teachers for his capacity. His self-confidence gradually increased. Nowadays, he is really a confident individual. Had he not have this ability, he would not have had this self-respect.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned paragraphs, one can soon realize that it is far better for students to understand concepts rather than learning facts since not only does it help them to understand the rest of courses more efficiently, but also they can improve in their life fast and it increases their self-confidence.