TPO8- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this progressive world where we live, no one can turn a blind eye to the significant effects of television programs on children's behavior. Some are inclined toward the opinion that television advertisements affect negatively children performance, and these programs should be limited for them especially those who are two to five-years-old. On the other extreme of the rope, others think that some advertisements are useful for kids. Although both sides take their own positions, personally speaking, I firmly believe that the first group carries more weight. In the following paragraph, I will cogently explain my reasons to justify my points of view.

As the first and paramount reason, since a few advertisements show horrifying scenes, many children not being sufficiently knowledgeable and emotionally ready to understand these pictures may feel fear. In other words, many children in the age of 2-5 can't distinguish different concepts such as various and attractive advertisements created for teenagers. Therefore, they may be affected emotionally by these television programs. Take my own experience as a compelling example. When I was five-years-old, I saw a horrible advertisement showing a strange boy with a black hat and mask for Halloween night. Some years later, I didn't get rid of those fearful scenes and I couldn't sleep well at night as a consequence. Actually, I was not mature enough to recognize those horrifying programs which were about a special celebration. Hence, the more advertisements are controlled for children to watch, the better emotional performance they will show in the near future.

The second reason coming to my mind to substantiate my viewpoint is that different advertisements encourage children to eat various food, which most of them are unhealthy and have much fat and calorie, such as junk food. To be more specific, having a certain diet, children especially those who are 2-5 years old should not eat low nutrient food. On the other hand, many companies, which consider young children as target customers and earn a lot of money, design beautiful scenes to attract these children by advertising high-fat food being very delicious. Consequently, families should control their children to watch which advertisements. For instance, research conducted by some psychology students shows that children watching many commercial programs on the television, particularly those are about fast food like to eat more snack and junk food than other healthy food such as milk or fruit. In fact, they want to imitate those advertisement's habits and diets. As a result, families should not allow their children to watch negative advertisements showing an unhealthy diet.

In conclusion, taking the above reasons into account, I firmly believe that some advertisements having adverse consequences not only affect children's behavior and their emotional performance but they also cause detrimental habits such as eating nutritionally deficient food in young children.