In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Due to the rapid development of science and technology, the invention of cars has largely benefited people's life by cutting the time on transportation. However, some people think the number of cars in use in the future will be decreasing. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the statement for the following three reasons.

To begin with, an abundance of cars in the road now seriously make us spend more time on commuting. 6When so many cars drive on the road, we are frequently bothered by the traffic jam, which cause our low efficiency on traffic. What is worse, there are a large amount of traffic accidents happened every day just because of the high density of cars. When we happen to meet an accident, the roads are blocked and we have to waste lots of time on the road. If the number of cars continue to increase, the efficiency on the road will be lower and lower, then everyone would prefer other ways of going out such as the subway rather than driving a car.

Another compelling reason contributing to the decreasing number of cars in future is that our environment cannot be polluted anymore. 25The planet we live in is severely polluted because of a great deal of fuse emitted by the cars. More and more people are getting sick because of the poor environment, and therefore the governments in every country are trying to propose some policies to protect our living conditions by restricting the use of cars of increasing the price of fuel, which definitely discourage people from driving cars.

Last but not least, there will be better vehicles to be invented in place of cars. With the advance of science and the development of the technology, scientists are now trying to address the serious problem caused by cars by inventing some new vehicles which do no harm to the environment and have higher speeds. 36For example, the new invention of lift rails can be more environmental-friendly which are driven by the electricity instead of fuel. What's more, they have a higher speed.

In a nutshell, considering those eloquent reasons given above, we can come to an conclusion that the cars will be replaced by some more advanced vehicles, which may be more efficient with less pollution. Therefore, I think there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.