In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

I think in twenty years , there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. I explain my opinion in following reasons.

First, the growth of internet and online activities will be the main incentive for people to stay at their place and decrease their urban transportation. Nowadays e-commerce as a common type of business model is growing fast and it causes a huge decreasing in demand for personal cars. For example why a person use car to buy a book when he or she could order that book from a website and get it in his place? So internet change people behavior to use the cars less .

Second, the growth of public transportation in cities make people needing the cars less. Some vehicles including bus , metro , train and so on will be developed in twenty years and people would roam in cities with the public transportation systems instead of own cars. Surely, in twenty years the bus stations or metro lines will be increased by the governments to encourage people not using their personal cars in comparison to the past.

Third, in economical approach , with the present rate of energy consumption in the world , and forecasts about the fossil fuels running out, demand of energy will increase and subsequently it's price will increase. So people will be reluctant to use or buy car because of the energy cost and we will face with decreasing in car using .

Finally there are many reasons that prove in twenty years we will see fewer cars in use than there are today. Reasons like pollution concerns, robotic and no-need in some human activities, but the point is definitely incontestable that the numbers of car in use will be decreased surprisingly in near future.