A university plans to develop a new research center in your country. Some people want a center for business research. Other people want a center for research in agriculture (farming). Which of these two kinds of research centers do you recommend for your country? Use specific reasons in your recommendation.

As a developed country, proportion of rice exported annually stands at the second in the world, most population whose primary income is from farming, however, our nation still not have a professional department for studying agriculture. Thus, if a university intended to operate a new research center, between business and agriculture, I would decide to choose the latter one.

First and foremost, our knowledge about cultivation, irrigation and plants only reaches intermediate level, therefore, our products are evaluated to be at low quality. Moreover, seeds cannot endure over strict weather and their productivity is at average standard. Scientists in that building will conduct some experiments to find out characteristic of our lands in order to give farmers a suitable method for cultivation and preservation. In addition, they also carry out research to improve the percentage of product. For example, previous rice can only be grown in two seasons which are spring and autumn. Thanks to scientific studies from research center, we can produce rice whole year. With such modern measures, our proportion of rice will increase rapidly in few years.

Another reason is that agricultural waste such as pesticide, fertilizer, herbicide and so on have polluted our environment for many decades, although, our government have tried abundant solutions to reduce damage to human and animals. I hope biologists in university can help us to invent a revolutionary method to replace all harmful chemicals that have been pump into the earth. For instance, a large number of lands destroyed now can be revived hopefully by using a special substance to neutralize the remaining dangerous chemicals. An ideal of applying environmentally friendly creatures such as dragonflies to protect plants from destructive insects is an innovative way by these biologists instead of continuing spread pesticide on the fields.

In conclusion, with scientists’ aid of improving agriculture in all aspects, I believe that our path to achieving the nation exporting rice the most will happen soon. Furthermore, I also wish that university will operate one more research center about economic in my country.