University recognized first-year students have poor study skills in its university. Some in the university believe the best way to address this is to ask all first-year students have to pass course on study skills. Others don't agree with this requirement. What is your opinion?

It is undeniable that reaching success in the study needs a lot of attempts and tricks. Students should use a wide variety of methods to have a profitable study. Most of the freshman students do not know useful approach to study. I think it is necessary to hold special courses for them in order to enhance their study skills. I feel this do to two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

The first reason worth mentioning is that study for university courses is more different than high school courses while students who have had very successful in high school studies need to learn new tips and tricks to be successful. To be more specific, in the university, semesters are shorter than high school and courses are heavier and more specific than high school courses. So students should pass a course to learn new tips and tricks which will be helpful for them in order to better cope with university courses. As my own example, we had not this course at university, so in our junior year, that courses became more specific, most of us failed at least in one course just because we did not know how to study all the courses in a limited time. actually, we used to study books more than one time to be prepared for the exam while there was not enough time for this method at university. So students require to take a course at their freshman year in order to learn how to study at university.

Furthermore, specific university courses are so complex that can not study successfully on their own. To clarify this, most of the university courses are sufficiently complicated which students can not find the useful ways of study at first. It may cause a failure for most of the students. Moreover, if they do not learn a prerequisite course as well, they will not learn other courses. It can continue as a chain and consequently, end to academic failure. So it is a good idea to hold courses with the aim of learning study skills to avoid these chains discussed above.

In conclusion, taking courses to learn helpful study courses should be compulsory for freshman students. This is required because the university courses are so different than high school courses than students can not discover them on their own. Furthermore, the lack of such courses will end to a large academic failure due to the close relationship among university courses.