What are the effects of aging population?

The phenomenon of aging population is gaining ground/ momentum/currency in developed nations where longevity is lengthened greatly by dint of higher living standards, better health care and serene life style. Some people fear that this trend may jeopardize/imperil the society in the long run owing to the dearth of young labor force, while others view it as inevitable/ineluctable and see positive effects/the bright side of this issue. My essay will analyze both upsides and downsides of this problem.

First of all, it is believed that the longer people live, the more they enjoy their lives. After years of diligence and contributions, the idea of glorying in a comfortable life in the advanced ages is wonderful; the senior citizen can read books, write articles, pursue their own passion or live life to the fullest. However, along with their enjoyment are pains as well. The old age is often associated with diseases which deprive the senior citizen of basking in their life, for instance, a bout of insomnia, hypertension, loss of memory, to name a few.

Secondly, from a broader perspective, say, the social view point, the emergence/surge of dense population of the old/ the aged is seen as a catalyst for the growth of nursing and health-care related industries. With more old people dominating, doctors and other health professionals are likely to work around the clock to come up with new medicines to treat diseases/ailments/maladies and enhance the quality of healthcare of the old who, unlike the younger

generation, put their wellbeing on the front burner. The flip side of the coin is the probable danger of a huge waste of money poured into welfare, which might place strain on the government, while they are already overburdened with so many responsibilities. To top it all, despite the existence of high-quality products made by the senior citizens who have a wealth of experience and knowledge, the society would be in a dire shortage of the young who have a bigger say over the economic destiny of a nation.

Last but not least, it is thought that along with the presence of the old is the possibility of the preservation of well-valued/time-honored traditional norms. It stands to reason that the old who often hold back on the past value tend to put high emphasis on/stress the sustenance of the old day beauty/ their halcyon days. By contrast, the counter-argument is that as a result of so-called conservatism normally seen in the old, the society will be in shortage of new ideas and ideals that are conducive to a dynamic and open economy. In a word, the society would undergo gains and pains when this trend prevails.

All in all, the growth in aging population is an acknowledged trend, having positive and negative impacts on the individual and society alike.