What are the important qualities of a good son or daughter? Have these qualities

changed or remained the same over time in your culture? Use specific

reasons and examples to support your answer.

The discussion about whether or not the characteristics of ideal descendents is a very controversial discussion. There are people on both side of the policy who have very strong feelings. Some people feel that the important qualities are hard work, risk-taking ability, work freely for family, proper use of technology etc. and this qualities have changed over times. However, most believe that these qualities have not changed with respect to time. However If I were forced to chose, I would raise my voice for that in our culture these qualities remain same. It is my firm belief that the qualities of ideal descendents not changed due to several reasons. I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, one of the reasons of my specific thought is that hard working for the support of the family is one of the great qualities of the descendents. Because by hard working a son or daughter can help their family and their parents. Hard working is such a quality that by doing it one person must do better for one’s own aim in life, family life, social life and ultimately the country. I have to admit my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my personal experiences. You see I have always wanted to write a book. I remember when I completed my graduation, I thought I would write an indispensable piece of literature that would live forever. However, after years of writing, I finally figured out that I wasn’t very good at it. But I continued to read, write, and study. A few years ago, I started teaching TOEFL and discovered that I had learned some valuable information that I could present in a new and unique way. After years of writing and failing, I finally completed a book that I could be proud of. But more importantly, I learned more about my strengths, weaknesses, and the direction I wanted my life to take. If I had not performed that type of hard work, I would have never learnt about the aim of my life and how to achieve that aim. So we can say that hard working is an important quality of a descendent and this quality is not changed over time.

Secondly, why I illustrate my personal thought is that risk taking for the family is one of the qualities of the ideal descendents. By taking risk a person can do better for his family. It is one of the important qualities of our culture, which also not changed with the time. My personal experience is a compelling illustration 0f this. When I think of risk, I immediately think of the stand-up comedy class I tried a few years ago. I have always admired comedians, but I was never brave enough to take the stage and try myself. For my birthday, my wife paid for me to take a stand-up comedy class. I was so nervous.The first time I took the stage I could hardly say a word. I wanted to quit, but my wife told me I would regret it. I went back and tried again. I still was not funny, but I lasted a couple minutes longer. By the end of the three-month class, I gave a ten-minute stand-up routine to a packed comedy club in midtown Manhattan. Putting myself on a stage in front of an audience was terrifying, but it made me a stronger person. If I had never taken the risk, I would have still regretted it today. So, it is clear to see why risk taking is most important qualities of a good son or daughter.

To sum up, in light of above mention reasons, I strongly believe that the hard working and risk taking ability are very essential qualities of good son or daughter and these qualities are not changed in our culture. Because by these qualities good son or daughter can help their family.