What are some important qualities of a good supervisor (boss)? Use specific details and examples to explain why these qualities are important.

Everyone has had the chance to work under a boss, a supervisor, or a leader of some sort, at least once. Now, they all have their way of interpreting this experience- sometimes extraordinary, other times awful. But, what qualities make a boss a good one? I, personally believe that approach, good advising, and motivation are the keys to an accomplished boss for the reasons explained below.

A boss should approach his employees well, because that will determine the quality of their work. To illustrate this, let’s take an example of a day at an office. Your boss enters your working environment frowning, and looking straight at you with an interrogating purpose. That, indisputably, will make you feel intimidated, and frightened. What’s the boss looking for? Does he doubt my passion for the job? These are questions that will go through your mind. Eventually, you will grow to hate your manager, and the quality of your work will decrease. It will either happen spontaneously, as your superior makes you dislike your job, or on purpose, as you start hating the guilty party for this consequence. Based on this illustration, and similar real-life events, if a boss is not able to build a good connection with his employees, then that will have serious outcomes in the efficiency of work conducted.

Another practice a good boss should apply is advising, because that will lead employees towards achieving general work goals. My own experience poses evidence of this. When I was working for my first job, I had little knowledge about the end-of-the-day targets. Those were the unspoken goals that we had to accomplish at the end of our turn. Now, when I learnt of this from a colleague, I kept repeating to myself that I had to hit those targets by four o’clock. However, I had no idea on how to actually do that. In such time of trouble, my first boss came to me and advised me to work on one target at a time. By the end of the day, I had finished all my duties. In other words, a good supervisor should always give advice, and be his underworkers’ guide, in order to achieve success.

In addition, a supervisor should be able to motivate his employees. It is not unusual for workers to be having a bad day, meaning that no matter their attempts, the case that they are working on is just not showing results. This can happen even on a company scale. In such a situation, it is a supervisor’s job to motivate his employees. If he constantly tries to arise persistence, and faith in the working environment, then workers will surely practice such virtues to the point that the supervisor won’t be needing to repeat his actions. In conclusion, motivative bosses thrive in their professions.

In brief words, I am of the opinion that a good boss is approachable, adviceful, and most importantly motivative.