What is the most useful way to help the natural environment?

Plant more trees and build parks

Stores stop providing plastic bags

Increase access to public transportation to reduce the number of cars on the road

As the whole world is threatened by deteriorating environmental issue, some measures are carried out to curb further pollution, including planting more trees in parks, offering no plastic bags in stores, and making public transportation more easily available so as to control the number of cars in the street. Personally, I reckon that the last approach can solve the problem to the greatest extent.

To improve the public transportation system can serve as the most effective way to keep the air pollution at bay. The government is attempting to offer more means of communting, completing the public transportation system. In this case, taking taxi or a private car will not be the only choice for those who can find no bus stop in their neighborhood. Therefore, citizens are encouraged to pick public transportation nearby without hesitation, which will lead to less running cars on the road. As a result, the exhaust and the emission of carbon dioxide will be lower than before. In Beijing, the business and cultural center of China, where hazy days have haunted people’s life for months, the vehicle restriction rule has witness its effect on controlling air quality. Even though people may find it inconvenient in one or two days of a whole week, more routes for bus or subway can be a perfect substitute to reduce people’s complaint. In this way, a win-win situation can be totally achieved.

With respect to the approach of planting more trees and building more parks, despite the fact that it seems a way to remove the problem from root, the benefits gained can only be sensed in a long term. Trees cannot grow up in one day. In addition, catering them and even creating more parks consume more other resources without guarantee of a positive result, because the trees are easily ruined and extra care requires more human resources, which is not a worthy investment in regards of protecting local environment.

Besides, asking stores to stop providing plastic bags also plays a limited role. As is known to all, plastic stuff pollutes the soil because of the toxic elements produced after it is degraded, which does not directly harm the world where we are living. What’s more, the negative influence can be averted through some feasible measures. For example, starch can be added to the process of making plastic bags to facilitate the degradation, or we can produce more biodegradable plastic bags instead. Forbidding customers to use it cannot directly contribute to a clear environment.

To sum up, compared to eliminating plastic products and planting more trees, making public transportation a more-chosen way by perfecting it can more obviously reduce air pollution, since it benefits both people and the environment.