When schools do not have enough funding or teachers, some people think physical education classes should be cut, while others believe that courses in art and music should be eliminated first. Which do you think is preferable, and why?

Economic cycles are a common feature of a capitalist society. When countries struggle with their finances, they are forced to reduce their costs in order to balance their payments. Education is one of the most affected areas when a country has a tight budget. As a result, school board members must decide which components of education are their top priorities. Many people assume that physical education should be the first class to be eliminated. Personally, I believe that arts and music should have their funding reduced instead. I support this opinion for two mains reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Being active is fundamental for living a healthy life. General guidelines suggest that we should engage in exercise between 3 to 5 times a week. Having physical education classes at school is important because it can help fulfill these guidelines. Sometimes parents are not aware of the importance of childhood exercise or do not have the time to take their children to an extracurricular activity; so, their children may lack opportunities to play sports. For example, when I was in middle-school I had soccer classes every day in my curriculum; thus, I was able to keep up with the physical activity guidelines. Soccer was a very enjoyable activity for me, and I was only able to practice at school since there were not soccer fields near where I lived.

Secondly, art and music are easily accessible on your own. Many cities offer music concerts or have art museums. Even if you are not able to go to these places, there are a myriad of ways to access this content, such as the use of internet, books, music tapes, and many others. Being an art aficionado, I have always learned art history through books in my free time. Even without a class at my school, I was able become very knowledgeable at the topic. On the contrary, I would not have been able to become a skilled athlete without the school support.

In conclusion, I think physical education classes should always be available at schools, even when there is a reduction in school funding. Keeping up with physical activity guidelines is very important, and frequently it is very challenging to do on your own whereas arts and music can be studied independently.