When your professor wants you to learn in a short time, which is better: working in a group or alone?

Brain storming, a familiar word to all university students, means that students may need to raise their ideas of something or learn something quickly so that professor could push their class into next part. I am deeply convinced many hands make light works, and such creed can incontrovertibly be applied to this activity.

Two types of brain storming are common, one is group discussion, and the other is individual thinking. Some of my opponents may claim that if students study new things alone, many problems can be avoided, especially the fear of interactions with others. However, behind this is a completely different scenario. For one thing, the shorter the time, the more nervous students may be. In this sense, students’ brain may be totally blank due to the stress and fail to concentrate on the learning material. For another, professors are unable to see the progress of students thinking, causing their confusion about making decision of when they could start next part.

In essence, if students could work together, then all the aforementioned drawbacks can promisingly be compensated, because students can exchange their ideas and thoughts with each other. Take me as an example, my history professor used to ask us to learn the part of China’s development of recent 20 years in half an hour. My classmates and I hold a group discussion, in which I got much inspiration from other students, and learning was not as difficult as it was without others’ help. It naturally follows that working in a group does good to members of the whole groups.

Also, working in a group can strengthen students’ sense of cooperation, which plays a significant role in students’ future life as they will enter the workforce and socialize with their colleagues to finish tasks of their employers. My father is a dentist who works in a clinic near my home every day. Once I watched a surgeon there which involved over four workers including two dentists and two nurses, and my father told me that only in this way could they achieve a higher efficiency. Such situation must be common in all respects of life and they could get familiar with this process by this means.

In a nutshell, while students need to study something in a short time, working in a group is pretty a better choice because it could not only boost the efficiency but also help them make preparations for their future development.