Which of the following do you think is the most important factor for a student to succeed at college or university?

1- Tutors in the university

2- The encouragement from family and friends

3- High-quality education from high school

In my opinion, high-quality education from high school would be more important to become successful in university because it helps students to get permission in better universities. Moreover, it would help them learn basic knowledge that affects their progress in university. I will illustrate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, a high-quality study level helps high school students to get admission from better universities. Obviously, better universities offer better conditions for their students that help them to become more successful in the entrance exam of universities. However, although families can help their children to study better, they cannot provide all of their requirements like good teachers or an equipped library. For instance, I studied in a high-quality high school that provided good conditions for students to learn everything they need. For example, they hired only high-quality experienced teachers. Also, they equipped the library and the laboratory of school to students could get access to whatever they need for learning new things. Hence, this high-quality education helps students to get admission from the top-ranked universities of the country. On the contrary, I had a friend in our neighborhood who was supported a lot by his family. However, studying in a school with an ordinary education level, he got admission from a low-level university that didn't have even an ordinary library in which students can study.

For the second reason, high-quality education would help students to learn basic knowledge better. Although tutors and their teaching methods are extremely important for passing courses with good grades, basic knowledge is a prerequisite for learning new things in university. For example, when I begin university, I took some introductory courses like mathematics in the first semester. At first, our well-known experienced professor asked some questions about some elemental mathematics problems to examine the students’ knowledge. Surprisingly, some of my classmates didn’t know even some elementary problems that they should learn at high school. However, educated in a high-quality high school, I had no problem with the questions and knew their answers. As a result, this good basic knowledge not only helped me to learn new mathematic problems easier but also helped me to get the top mark among all students.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded the hardly can the two other options be important as much as a high-quality education from high school.